Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Announces Nearly $3 Million in Grants to 41 Recipients

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program announced its County Courthouse Restoration and Historic Preservation Restoration grants for fiscal year 2023.

Between the two grant categories, a total of nearly $3 million will be awarded to 41 grant recipients, according to a press release.

The grants include everything from $9,999 to rehabilitate 225 feet of wrought iron fencing at the Odd Fellows Cemetery in Eureka Springs to $185,100 to replace sewer system piping at the Hot Spring County Courthouse in Malvern.

In existence since 1988, the County Courthouse Restoration Grant Program encourages and promotes the preservation and continued use of historic Arkansas courthouses by providing financial assistance for repair and rehabilitation work, according to the release.

The program is funded by a grant to the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program by the Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council using Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax funds. County Courthouse Restoration Grants are awarded annually. Since its inception, the program has provided $28 million in grants for rehabilitation work to 79 courthouses and annexes in 64 counties.

This year, $2,227,946 in grants were awarded to 25 applicants. Courthouse grant recipients, proposed projects and grant amounts are:

• Benton County, Bentonville, condition assessment and master plan, $18,500.

• Bradley County, Warren, repair of clock tower, second story and interior plaster, $64,175.

• Calhoun County, Hampton, window repair/painting and roof repair, $120,500.

• Carroll County, Berryville, window/door/mortar/point repair, ADA access and electrical, $54,145.

• Cleveland County, Rison, masonry wall restoration, $76,830.

• Craighead County, Jonesboro, partial roof replacement, $93,000.

• Crawford County, Van Buren, remove and replace deteriorated wood windows, $114,000.

• Dallas County, Fordyce, cornice/crown/paint repair and shingle roof replacement, $92,500.

• Garland County, Hot Springs, replacement of terracotta units and lower supports and repair of plaster, $125,182.

• Greene County, Paragould, roof replacement, $104,966.

• Hot Spring County, Malvern, sewer system piping replacement, $185,100.

• Izard County, Melbourne, exterior roof access ladder, $20,000.

• Jackson County, Newport, restoration of south side windows, $44,340.

• Johnson County, Clarksville, basement bathroom renovation/ADA accessibility, $155,429.

• Miller County, Texarkana, masonry restoration, $182,184.

• Monroe County, Clarendon, window/transom restoration, window painting/sealing and lintel scraping/painting, $40,756.

• Montgomery County, Mount Ida, exterior envelope restoration and attic insulation, $33,658.

• Ouachita County, Camden, limestone entrance/clock repair and masonry cleaning/restoration, $62,175.

• Phillips County, Helena-West Helena, replacement and modification of the heating portion of the central heating, ventilation and air conditioning system, $209,755.

• Prairie County, Des Arc, new membrane/flashing roof and clock tower roof, hatch and weather vane, $59,653.

• Scott County, Waldron, preservation plan, $20,000.

• Union County, El Dorado, column in cleaning of anti-roll/tack boards and replacement of atrium roof, $147,200.

• Washington County, Fayetteville, restoration/replacement of front doors and replacement of windows, $95,000.

• Woodruff County, Augusta, gutter cleaning and repair, plaster removal, installation and painting, $41,398.

• Yell County, Dardanelle, repair of structural steel columns and windows, $67,500.

The Historic Preservation and Restoration Grant Program encourages and promotes the preservation of Arkansas’ historic resources by providing financial assistance for the restoration of historic properties. The program is funded by proceeds from the Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax. The program has provided $12 million in grants to 277 properties since its inception in 1996.

This year, $755,662 in grants were awarded to 16 applicants. The historic preservation and restoration grant recipients, proposed projects and grant amounts are:

• Carroll County, Eureka Springs, Carnegie Public Library, new copper flashing at integral gutters and limestone joints, $92,203.

• Carroll County, Eureka Springs, Eureka Springs Cemetery Commission, International Order of Odd Fellows Cemetery, rehabilitation of 225 feet of wrought iron fence, $9,999.

• Cross County, Wynne, downtown Wynne revitalization, Women’s Progressive Club, concrete steps, doors, windows and roof repair, $25,137.

• Drew County, Jerome, Drew County Historical Society and Museum, Jerome School, repair of roof, masonry walls and windows, painting of doors and windows, installation of three doors, $44,316.

• Garland County, Hot Springs, People Helping Others Excel By Example, John Lee Webb House, brick masonry, $27,479.

• Garland County, Hot Springs, Visitor’s Chapel AME, masonry joint, $81,666.

• Logan County, Paris, First United Methodist Church of Paris, Methodist Episcopal Church, North Staircase Restoration, $25,786.

• Phillips County, Helena, Helena Museum of Phillips County, Library Hall Windows Preservation/Restoration, $32,000.

• Pope County, Russellville, Town of Russellville, Latimore Tourist Home, move to new location, $34,667.

• Prairie County, Des Arc, Town of Des Arc, Legion Hut Des Arc, remove overhang, replace roof and logs, and repoint chimney/foundation pillars, $29,966.

• Prairie County, Des Arc, Des Arc Public Schools, Des Arc High School Home Economics Building, masonry, south window and door restoration, exterior wood repair and ADA access, 93,793 $.

• Prairie County, Hazen, Prairie County Historical Center, Inc., Kocourek & Son Hardware, repointing of masonry on west elevation, restoration of double hung window, $30,934.

• Pulaski County, Little Rock, Junior League of Little Rock, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks (BPOE) Elks Club, replace scupper, test north wall and repair interior walls, $85,291.

• Union County, El Dorado, City of El Dorado, Goodwin Field Administration Building, Building Envelope Stabilization, $84,320.

• Union County, El Dorado, South Arkansas Historical Preservation Society, John Newton House, ADA accessible restroom, roof repair, wall/floor gap, handrail and siding repair, $45,267.

• Washington County, Winslow, Ozark Folkways, Muxen Building, crawl space vapor barrier, repair of roof/window damage and rainwater infiltration, $12,838.

Ryan H. Bowman